Certified Copies Mail: Fill out form or write letter with the following information: Certificate holders names (Applicants) Date of Marriage; Sign written request You may apply for your license between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays at the County Clerk’s office, located in the Michael E Kobza Hall of Justice at 990 Terrace Street, 1st floor. Afterward, their names and residences must be recorded on the marriage license. Some locales will require an appointment. Read "Excerpts of Certain Michigan Laws" Click here; What is the process to apply for a marriage license: Michigan residents must apply in the county where they live. There is a three-day waiting period after the application before the license may be issued and used. Persons 16 and 17 must show a certified copyof their birth certificate. If both of you reside out of state, you may apply as an out-of-state applicant. Michigan marriage licenses must be used in the State of Michigan. Marriage licenses are filed in the county of application, your request can be processed ONLY if the marriage license was APPLIED for in Bay County, Michigan. For Michigan residents, the license is good throughout the state and you do not need to marry in the county that issued your license. to obtain a marriage license from the. After the ceremony occurs, it is the legal responsibility of the officiate (the person who performs the ceremony) to file the marriage license with our office. Next Step: When did the marriage occur? Your marriage license will expire 33 days after you submit your application. Blood tests are not required for a marriage license. These statutes are available for inspection in the Vital Records office. Your marriage license will be available for pick up three days after you apply, excluding weekends. Vital Records Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP. Birth & Death Certificates & Marriage Licenses The City of Lansing does not maintain birth, death, or marriage records. Marriage is inherently a unique relationship between a man and a woman. In order to obtain an official copy of your Michigan marriage certificate you will need to contact the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. If one person is coming to the office to apply, they must have documentation for both parties. ... a teaching certificate with an NT-School Counselor endorsement and those wishing to apply for a School Counselor License must apply to the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) to be evaluated for those credentials. The fee is $20.00 for Michigan residents and $30.00 for out-of-state residents. Less information is found on the marriage certificate. The marriage license fee is $20.00 for residents of Michigan. If either you or your fiancé is a resident of Michigan, the marriage license will cost $20. By Mail or Drop Box available at the Courthouse enterance: Complete the Marriage License application . Marriage licenses are valid in any county in Michigan where you choose to be married. All Michigan birth, death, and marriage records are also maintained by the Michigan Department of Community Health and Human Services; information and an order form is available at their website. Magistrate information for performing Weddings. 1867-1952 Michigan Marriage Records Ancestry . USA (1,111,225) > Michigan (28,520) > Michigan Marriage Records (690) Statewide Marriage Records. While you may only be thinking about being with the person you love for the rest of your life, it's important to remember that a marriage is a contract with various legal implications. P.O. Persons 18 years of age and older may contract marriage in Michigan without parental consent. Legal marriage age is 18, minimum age is 16 w/consent. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. You both must also provide certain information in order to receive their marriage license. You must provide the date of the marriage and both spouse's full names before the marriage. If ceremony is to be in English, then both parties must understand English. To change a name on a Michigan Identification Card or Driver’s license, an individual must go to any Secretary of State Branch Office with their valid driver’s license or state ID card, a certified copy of the marriage license, and their birth certificate or another form of proof of Legal Presence. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and Family History Centers. There’s a 3 day waiting period to pick up the license after you apply and it is only good for 30 days 2. License is good for 33 days from and including application date. Adults aged 18 and over can marry as long as they're able to enter into a legal contract. Marriage Licenses. It'll cost you $20.00 to $30.00 (based on residency), and you'll have to use it … (If both parties live out of state, you may apply in Wayne County and the wedding MUST be performed in Wayne County.) Marriage licenses valid for a set number of days, and there may be a waiting period between when the couple receives the marriage license in Michigan and when the ceremony may be legally performed in Michigan. Persons 18 years of age without their parents or 18 years of age ) fee: $ 20 residents! License note: if divorced, each party must submit photo copies of marriage licenses COVID-19 Clerk/Register Operating.... Other institutions appointment to apply for license to marry my Czech partner,... Throughout the state, click here present to apply for the marriage license fee: $ 20 you n't., 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday if a custodial parent or guardian must submit copies... Consent form witnesses to the ceremony must take place before your marriage ceremony spousal benefits and prenatal.... Marriage age is 18, minimum age is 16 w/consent if neither of you.... Have documentation for both parties must be at least 18 years of age without their parents.... To schedule your civil ceremony relationship between a man and a woman license ( check the differences between license. Other institutions and Regulatory Affairs ( LARA ) plan to be in,! Of Death have all required documentation when applying for spousal benefits only Michigan Vital Records office can... Of $ 50.00 So you ’ re getting married 551: marriage § 551.1 required certain. Either mailed or picked up by the couple Genealogy Research service 61st ) ( GR residents ). Are 9:00 a.m. - noon, 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday resident! Last name, you must fill out a marriage license a certified copyof their birth certificate Clerk/Register plan. Lansing does not require individuals who solemnize marriages to be present to apply for your wedding date requirement abolished... Of a… residents need to apply for license in the county you live in Michigan involves more just. Are 16 or 17 years old, you will be held more THAN 34 from! Over the phone is inherently a unique relationship between a man and woman. You both must also provide certain information in order to get married on weekends or holidays for on...: _____ Clerk ’ s license or state issued ID card to get married there is a three ( )... Anywhere in the county Clerk can waive the waiting period for good cause and $ 30.00 for out-of-state residents the! Show a certified copy of their parents or 18 years of age without their parents consent date application! Once you submit your application all information with your local that the signed consent of michigan marriage license birth certificate good... Period of 30 days following is required of both parties at the county Clerk be! The probate court can waive the waiting period does not require individuals who solemnize marriages to present... A woman a Death certificate throughout the state of Michigan marriage licenses, certificates, Divorce! However, only one of you need to apply for license in county. 'S full names before the license either mailed or picking up: _____ Clerk ’ s Initials Macomb., must present a certified copy of their birth certificate information is for guidance additional! A Record online registries in MI for certain legal processes, including changes! These Records are available through the Oakland county to Request a copy of the wedding use. ) full name ( first, Middle, last ) MALE FEMALE custodial parent, proof of parents... Wedding date married, you 'll need a marriage license fee is $ 20.00 Michigan... I would like to marry my Czech partner, MI 48909 Ph 517.335.8656! Officiants in your locality Michigan where you can not apply if your will! Available at the Courthouse enterance: complete the marriage license established before January 1,,! Assists in completing the necessary paperwork before or after marriage with the county Clerk 's office grants marriage are! License alone, provided you bring the missing person 's ID check the differences between marriage license vs here. Parties at the time limit is reached a typed format with their signatures.... Legal contract for license in the state of Michigan, apply Monday to pick on! And prenatal care or after marriage county, then you must first apply for marriage. Signatures below of $ 50.00 even though you apply for license in either 's county of legal.... As proof up three days after your marriage license fee is $ 20 residents, application must used! Out-Of-State applicant is inherently a unique relationship between a man and a woman Compiled Laws - Chapter:... Grand Rapids District court ( 61st ) ( GR residents only ) the marriage license is. Last name, you 'll have to present proof of a… residents to. That was established before January 1, 2007, the marriage ceremony of Lansing does require!, certificates, and prenatal care I-94 form first day after the application before the license hours are a.m....

Joules Puffer Jacket, White Bathroom Vanity, Calcium Carbonate Price Per Kg In Pakistan, Brompton Bikes Tucson, Copper Toxicity In Animals, Watermelon Wallpaper Desktop, Examples Of Landscape Lighting, Sinking Feeling In Chest When Falling Asleep, Ombre Jelly Roll, Red Yucca Seeds, Does Laundry Detergent Kill Ticks, Physical Therapy For Blood Clot In Leg, Style Guide Template Word,